Dec 13 2013

Oz Comic-Con 2014: Billie Piper heading to Perth and Adelaide

Oz Comic-Con 2014 - Billie Piper

Following the excitement of the Doctor Who 50th anniversary special, The Day of the Doctor, the organisers of the Oz Comic-Con are very excited to add actress Billie Piper to the convention line-up. This marks her first appearance at an Australian convention.

In addition to her role as Rose Tyler/Bad Wolf/The Conscience of The Moment in the relaunched Doctor Who series for BBC, Piper headed up Secret Diary of a Call Girl for four seasons on ITV, where she played a high-class London call girl. There was also that pop album back in the 1990s/early 2000s, “Honey to the B”, that nobody seems to talk about anymore. Under the name Billie, it spawned the hit single “Because We Want To”. Fans took it badly when the career didn’t go as expected:

She will join the Oz Comic-Con 2014 guests that include (across the various states)  William Shatner, Kevin Sorbo, Shannen Doherty, Brian Krause, Holly Marie Combs, Michael Hurst, Bill Farmer, Booboo Stewart, Nana Visitor, David Nykl, Jason Momoa, Amanda Tapping, Gigi Edgley, Chris Judge, Robert Maschio, Corin Nemec, Eddie McClintock, Mike McFarland, Paul Eiding, Daniel Cudmore, Bobby Curnow, Tristan “T-Rex” Jones, Nicola Scott, Brad Walker, Jon Sommariva, Doug Holgate, Paul Abstruse, Georges Jeanty, David Yardin, Dean Rankine,  Agnes Garbowska, Jim Cummings and Rodger Bumpass.

The 2014 Oz Comic-Con dates are:

  • Perth, WA – March 29 and 30 at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre
  • Adelaide, SA – April 5 and 6 at the Adelaide Showground
  • Melbourne, VIC – July 5 and 6 at the Royal Exhibition Building
  • Brisbane, QLD – September 6 and 7 at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre
  • Sydney, NSW – September 13 and 14 at the Sydney Exhibition Centre at Glebe Island

You can find out more information about Oz Comic-Con by heading to their website at ozcomiccon.com. THEN come right back here as well, as we’ll be covering the various ‘Cons in full over the next year.